Lent, Matthew, Jesus

Lent. Day 3.
The tricky thing about coming back to a writing habit that aims to be profound after a scholastically themed absence of many months is that now my brain is tired and I don’t conjure quippy and clever phrases and profound ideas quite as spontaneously as before.
However, I’m going to take the advice I always give to other new writers and write badly and roughly for the sake of writing at all.
A little Korean Boy-pop in the background doesn’t hurt either.

IMG_2073    Admittedly, I feel funny going back to a discipline of reading my Bible and journaling about it, and even more odd publishing what I write about. Minus the publishing, this was me twelve years ago. At the time, I didn’t think i’d ever leave that discipline. One I’d left it, I didn’t think i’d ever go back.
This was supposed to be a blog about my sci-fi novel, for goodness sake!
I promise, I’m still working on the novel. Someday I’ll publish it…
But for now, I’m going to share my Bible readings.

Yesterday in Matthew, I read about the Temptations of Jesus. Today I started the Sermon on the Mount. I noticed how Jesus was tempted physically, emotionally and spiritually and that the crux of what the Tempter offered Jesus was a short-cut to achieving the vision and purpose for which He’d come.
But perhaps without pain, achievement is in-authentic.
Actually, what I think my theology professors would have pointed out is that by resisting the Tempter’s offer, Christ accomplished redemption on His own terms, making it entirely His work, and work for which He needed no one.
How does He resist? He falls back on who He knows He is, being secure in His relationship with the Father.

The first half of the Sermon on the Mount addresses the inner sins. For centuries the Jewish people had (sort of)upheld the Mosaic Law. Jesus raised the standard. Sheer behavior was no longer sufficient; God was looking at the heart.

I was particularly challenged by the words about anger, mostly because I lately recognize myself as an angry person. Or, optimistically, a broken person struggling with anger.
He gives sharp critique against those who are angry and critical of others. But I think the especially damaging part is not when someone is angry about a wrong done, but when that wrong is left unresolved. When anger is unresolved, it simmers and smolders and destroys a person from the inside out.
Reconciliation is what heals.

Leave a Reply

